Thursday, April 21, 2016

THE END.


Dear Reader,
           
    Finally, it is actually the final blog. It really is the last one (everyone whoops and hollers in the background)

              
So today was our speech choir thing (and also the ignite speeches). My block plus AMBA 155 had to perform today, and I was tired as fudge because I didn’t get to sleep the night before because of the stupid AVP for speech choir. Which I miraculously completed by the way! (though the audio didn’t render through, oh well, beggars can’t be choosy). Although there were slight hitches in the road to today I can confidently say with my chin held high that we did great, we were able to capture our audience’s attention and relay the message we were trying to get through, which was oppression, we focused on that part of Maya Angelou’s “Caged Bird” because we felt like it would bring a greater impact. Sad to say that we didn’t even get a place, which I am still bitter about, because our interpretation of the piece, I think, was very well thought out. The thing that confounded me the most though, was the winner of the AVP. It was not even technically an AVP! It was a freaking music video and it had absolutely nothing to do with the piece. The music video was shot poorly with lots of camera shake and low lighting. Why the heck did they win?! I would have understood if another one got the best AVP award, but seriously man. Seriously. All my rage. And as for our performance, even the other participating blocks said that we did an amazing job, why the heck did we not get a place?!? Seriously. I am that bitter.
              
   
  Urgh. Anyway, whatever, I have ranted. Now you all now know my thoughts about the competition.


I AM OFFICIALLY DONE WITH MY ENGLISH ENRICHMENT PROGRAM SUBJECT!!! THREE CHEERS!!!


I hope to never write to you guys again.


Public as in, in front a lot of people. Welp.

Dear Readers,

               GUYS. I WAS IN A COMPETITION. IT WAS PUBLIC SPEAKING! HA FREAKING HA. If you were to tell me a while back that I’ll be speaking publicly I would have most definitely puked on your face, nah just kidding (or am I???). I am actually a person who gets nervous in front of large audiences who have their attention on me, even inside the classroom I get nervous. But my public speaking classes did actually help me boost my confidence in speaking, sure sometimes I get the urge to puke from time to time but at least I don’t get the feeling that I am about to faint, which I think is a very good improvement! Now I’m much more comfortable speaking to crowds (even though I still get nervous).
              
               The theme of the said public speaking contest was “Integrity has no need of rules” In which I completely disagree (after, of course, my parents enlightened me on how stupid I was). Sure in a sense, it does not need rules, but hey I’m a stickler for order and I think everything in the universe has a rule.

               So! Here’s an excerpt from my speech! Enjoy.

"INTEGRITY! Sadly, not a lot of people has it nowadays. A trait so noble and virtuous that only a few people of this generation has it. To be a person with integrity, one has to be bound by laws or what we call principles. Let’s think about it shall we? Integrity by definition is when a person has a firm adherence to a code especially moral or artistic values, I got this is straight out of the Meriam-Webster Dictionary so you can check if I’m actually saying the truth and not spewing just a load of crap. Anyway, I’m also going to define the word rule so that we may further have a deeper understanding of the phrase “Integrity has no rules”. The word rule actually has a lot of definitions, but for my purposes I chose a definition that is well suited for this topic. A rule is something that tells you what is or is not allowed in a particular situation, it is also an accepted procedure, custom or habit, from this I was able to infer that Integrity does have rules. Everything in the world is governed by laws or rules, Integrity is absolutely not an exception. Anything that exists in this world needs a set of rules to operate by, a prime example is us humans, we take every chance we get to make a stupid law about everything every little thing, nature has its own laws, even the universe has its own order, what more of integrity?"




OMG. STOP WITH THE MOVIE REVIEWS!

Dear Readers,
             
  So movie review. URGH. I’m just so ready to be done with this term. I am super ready for vacation. Let us just do this.

               So the title is Sana Dati. A Filipino romantic movie (double sigh). I can do this. I can do this. I can do this. I can do this. I can do this.

               Sana Dati (English: If Only) is a 2013 Filipino romantic drama film written and directed by Jerrold Tarog. The film is about a woman who stalls her big wedding when a guy with a camera shows up and reminds her of a love she once had. It is the final installment to Tarog's Camera trilogy that includes Confessional (2007) and The Blood Trail (2009). The film competed under the Directors Showcase sidebar of Cinemalaya 2013. The film won Best Film and other technical awards at the festival's awards night. The film is a love story about a woman named Andrea (Lovi Poe) whose wedding is thrown into disarray when a mysterious guy, Dennis (Paulo Avelino) arrives and reminds her of the man she really loves. [1]
           
         This is so typical of a Filipino film. Sure it is beautifully directed and has an awesome plot and story line but c’mon man. I want more. I don’t want the BS stuff. I want something real and concrete. I know it is a bit vague but I don’t know how else I’m going to say it so yeah. I want movies that talks about everyday problems or a movie that looks so simplistic but with further inspection is like an iceberg. I want inspirational shit like the movie “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” or a gritty movie like “The Shawshank Redemption”, those, my friends, are movies that I would watch a million of times.

[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sana_Dati


WARNING: THIS IS A MOVIE REVIEW



Dear Readers,

               MOVIE REVIEW TIME! (DUN DUN DUN DUN) I hate this part. I’m literally cringing yo. I really do not like writing movie reviews, I absolutely detest them. Why you ask? Well there’s no real reason at all.

               The movie is called Parasyte! Some of you may be familiar, some of you may not. For those who are not familiar, Parasyte is a Japanese movie directed by Takashi Yamazaki. It is all about a story of a Japanese teen who manages to stop an alien infection before it spreads to his brain, but is then forced to coexist with the mutant creature when it takes control of his right arm in “Parasyte.” Part horror movie, part buddy comedy and part superhero origin story, this clever twist on the classic body-snatcher formula — adapted from a popular manga and divided into two features (this first installment opening Nov. 29, followed by part two in 2015) — couldn’t be in better hands: Blockbuster helmer Takashi Yamazaki (whose “The Eternal Zero” earned $70 million domestic) stands to achieve not just domestic domination, but a serious grip on genre aficionados’ imaginations worldwide. [1]

               I have actually watched the anime version and loved it very much since it was my type of thing ya know, weird yet fascinating at the same time. Thought at times I got really frustrated but I let it go since I actually liked the anime, so yeah, no hard feelings bruh.
              
               I wanted to make a fanfic out of this though but every time I come up with a plot, I felt like it was not going the direction I wanted it to go, I tried and tried guys, like really hard to make a fanfic that you guys would enjoy but I just couldn’t spit out anything. So yeah. No fanfic from guys.

[1] http://variety.com/2014/film/festivals/film-review-parasyte-part-1-1201344567/

IT'SCHA BIRTHDAY!




Dear Readers,
                
               So let’s talk about a hunk named Benjamin Alves, talk about drool worthy guys. He celebrated his birthday in APC! At first when I heard that we were required to attend an event, I immediately groaned (yo I’m a groaner) I do not like attending events, they are just not my cup of tea. So we went to MPH 1 and waited there for the celebrant himself and let me tell you girls it was worth the freaking wait. OH. MY. FREAKING. GOSH. Yoooooooooooooooooooo he is hella cute, google him if you don’t know him. I bet my laptop that he has washboard abs under his shirt. (CLEAN THOUGHTS DUDE! STOP!!!) anyway, the best part of him was the fact that he was a lit. student at Cambodia (????) Maaaaaaaaan. You talented and hot. He actually delivered a slam poem that he made ways back and he actually delivered it quite well (apparently, in slam poetry, when you like something the person said, you have to snap your fingers not clap). Anyway, other than Ben, there were also some students who delivered their slam poems, some of them were actually good.

              

  READERS! Let me share something with you guys, I actually am also a writer of poems so here is a sample. ENJOY.

Mountains’ Face

Water slides down the mountains’ face
Magma sears within
A cave forms deep
Drips, drips, drops
Water slides down the mountains’ face

The heavens look down
Thunder rumbling in their guts
Staring down in disdain
Heavens’ fury descends

Bare, stripped, naked
Left vulnerable, left unguarded
Their fury knows no end
Their wrath will not bend

Red water gushes out the mountains’ face
Magma, festering within
 Walls, already caving in
Red water gushes out the mountains’ face




AYT AYT THREE MORE TO GO! YEAAAAH!

ERRBODY WANNA BE A MILLIONAIRE



Dear readers,

               So for your information, I was forced to join a game (which I actually enjoyed it in the end) called who wants to be a millionaire in my school, it was a sham guys, they did not give away a million pesos. So in the English Resource Department’s version of who wants to be a millionaire, all of the questions were about literature and books (duuuuuh!) and whatnot, some of the questions were easy and some of them we had to guess because we really didn’t have a clue on what the answer was. By the way! I had teammates! I did not go through this ordeal alone (as if I would fly solo), their names was Beatrice Baylosis and Tyron Santos, the three of us represented ABMA 153, sadly we didn’t win, but at least we made it into the 2nd to the last round (welp! Help me out here guys, I forgot what the round was called) and of course the greatest part of entering the game was… drumroll please… (you really should imagine drumrolls kay?) INCENTIVES!!!! Yaaaay! I’d do anything for grades as I have said before!


              
               The reason why I’m blogging about this is because my professor told me to, I might be a rebel sometimes but you just can’t rebel against grades yo, education for the win. I really should edit this blog but meh. Maybe when I get really OC or something, maybe then I’ll fix all my blogs, but seeing as I’m a lazy bum I do not see that happening in the future. Ok. SO. The one who made me join was my professor from my technical writing class, when he pointed at me, my mind literally blanked because I was seriously not expecting it, I mean, there I was, packing my things so that I could eat lunch then all of a sudden my professor calls me and tells me I have to join the game. I said ok of course. You cannot say no to your professor.


 Two down! Four more to go!!! Woot Woot! 

WHATEVER FLOATS YOUR BOAT.



Dear Readers,

               Well this Is a little embarrassing isn’t it? I told you a blog ago that it would be my final one and yet here I am typing away at my keyboard, preparing to make a new one. As you may have inferred, my last blog was definitely not the last one. I have 7 more to go (y’all can’t hear me but I am groaning right now). I was fooled into a sense of peace when suddenly our professor told us that we have to write a set of blogs, you’d best believe that my jaw figuratively hit the floor. It’s not that I don’t like writing, I actually love it, it’s just that I don’t like pressure writing. Anyway! Join me again in my countdown to my last blog. It’s for real this time.
              
               So let’s talk about the float parade (could it even be called that?????? We just basically walked along Lapu-Lapu street with our floats with little to none people watching). So in my course we have this subject called Approj - Applied Projects, and what we had to do was to build a float, so a float was what we built. So our section was divided into two and I was put into Group A together with 13 other people. The theme for the float that we were making was Filipino Myths or Folklore (I think, but I’m not really sure) so what we came up with was a hybrid monster. We combined an “Agta” and a “Wak-wak”, 2 obscure Filipino creatures that are not really that popular. I had no part in the actual designing of the creature, I left that to my groupmates who were good at character creations. So after our idea was approved by our professor we began the planning and all the good stuff that came along with project planning. Fast forward to the day of the competition, we won 2nd place together with the other group from my section, Group B. After the competition we then made the documentation of the project because it was requirement and not because we wanted to do it

         
          One down, FIVE more to go! Again, I’m doing this in one seating so forgive my fragmented blog. So Sorry.
 

Tuesday, March 1, 2016

ANOTHER sucky movie review

Dear readers,

               Alright. The last one. My final hurrah. And I am going to talk about (drumroll please) RPG METANOIA. A movie. Which means a review. I hate reviews. Grades man, I’ll do anything for it, I do not have to enjoy it though.

               Moving on. For the first of its kind that has ever been produced in the Philippines, it was actually pretty good. The story line was easy and very relatable, what I liked the most about it is the fact that they used Filipino settings, it was very refreshing. These days you’ll find very westernized productions in the Filipino films, and it brings a smile to my face that they incorporated so much Filipino culture into the movie.
 It was very refreshing. RPG Metanoia’s animation leaves room for improvement, especially with the hair and facial muscles (the late blinking really freaks me out) the voice acting could be better too, but all in all it was a wonderful movie that  I might even try and watch again. In conclusion, the animation can be improved more, but the plot line or story more than made up for it. Two thumbs up to the creative team behind this awesome authentic Filipino animation.



IT IS DONE! I’M DONE


CHANTS and CHEERS


Dear readers,

               ALRIGHT! Chants and cheers, an event that happened recently in our school is my next target topic for my blog. First and foremost I want to tell you this. I NEVER WANT TO BE THE LEADER EVER AGAIN. The stress man. The stress. Uncooperative groupmates. I was like whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy did I freaking agree to this. Oh man I really want to start cursing just thinking about it. But its already done so whatever I guess. I’m not one to hold grudges though I am the type to learn from experience. So. Never. Again.

               Now that that’s out of the way. The event itself was pretty hyped up, so many hopeful students thinking to themselves that they’re the ones who is going to win. All of the late night practices will finally pay off as they, us included perform their best in front of an audience in the school auditorium. My block didn’t really win (I think we could have though with less procrastination) but It was fun. Sure I was nervous at the very beginning but it all went away as we performed. I hope to never do it ever again. Seriously, it is just not my cup of tea.




FUDGE CAKE. I ONLY HAVE 1 MORE TO GO. I’M CRYING. 

HIS LVL IS OVER 10000000000000


Dear readers,

              Let’s talk about NVM Gonzalez shall we? The first time I ever saw his name, I immediately thought the words “never mind” don’t tell me that didn’t occur to you dear reader. All of you are internet savvy people judging from the fact that you can access my blog right now. His name was the reason I picked him to be the author that I would write about, I was never really expecting all the things I found out about him. He is apparently a very awesome novelist. The man is a National Artist for pete’s sake! I mean come on! I aspire to be like him, a great writer who has achieved so many things and published so many of his work. Whilst I have not even shown anyone my literary works in fear of being shunned for my mediocre work. Let me tell you this guys, it takes lots of guts to publish your work out there in the open.

              The more I read about this guy, the more amazed I get by him. Not only was he a novelist, he was also a poet and a musician! (I may or may not be fangirling right now) He made four freaking guitars! He played the violin! Urgghhhhh! I want to pull hair out! I feel so unaccomplished. So unproductive, which I actually am. This guy is the freaking ultimate. He was the first president for the Philippine Writers’ Association he even taught at the University of the Philippines without a degree. I REAPEAT. HE TAUGHT WITHOUT A STUPID DEGREE. How radical is that? VERY I tell you. Very much so. Unfortunately he has already passed and I will never be able to meet him. But if I am ever to be given three wishes, I would totally wish to meet and learn from him. Teach me your ways O sensei.


http://www.nvmgonzalez.org/ (here’s a link to his biography for those who want to know more)






2 more blogs to go! I can do this!

Be Yourself



Dear readers,

              We had a very interesting visitor here in college recently, can you guess? I am sure you won’t even try to guess, so I am just going to tell you. He’s a comedian called Jon Santos. (Is that wild hollering I hear in the distance?) Yep, the famous comedian Jon Santos, visited us and gave a very wonderful seminar in our auditorium. His speech was very awe inspiring and funny at the same time. He truly is a witty person and I applaud him for his resilience in the industry that he is working in. In the seminar that he gave, he told us that the school asked if he could come as himself (he’s an impersonator so it is rare that he is asked to do so) and that caught him by surprise, but he happily obliged. He stated that sometimes he feels more comfortable being someone else than himself when he performs, he said that it came easier to him.

            

   Ok I am going to go away from him for a bit and go back to me (because I am an egocentrical person) Be yourself. Being yourself. SELF. I find that hard to do. I am rarely myself. I find that I am just a version of myself. I change depending on who I am with. It frustrated me so much when I realized this. Who the heck am I? Am I really a miserable person? Am I a jolly person? Am I me? I feel like a there’s a crisis coming on here. I hate that I think so much. I really do hate it. I especially hate the fact that I have so much time to think about it. Ignorance really is sometimes bliss. Why can’t I just think normally and worry about stuff like this. If you haven’t noticed by now, I’m a very frustrated person.



Well then, this is farewell. I have 3 more blogs to make.

A very sucky review (Read at your own risk)



Dear readers,

               MOVIE REVIEW TIME. What movie you ask? It’s none other than the film called titled “Turn left, turn right”. Directed by Johnnie To and Wai Ka-fai, Turn left, turn right is a very frustrating movie to watch. I swear. I kept face palming and crying obscenities out loud because of the fate of the lead roles. Sure, it’s a pretty unrealistic (I’m a cynic. Sue me) what with the “fate and destiny” theme of the film, but one can’t stop but wonder if those things ever really happen. Ok so guys, I’m going to tell you up front. I hate movie reviews, making them I mean, I do love watching movies, but I hate absolutely abhor to react to them in a verbal way. Because normally, I’d just talk about it with a person whom I watched it with and then digest the rest of it myself. So if someone would ever tell me that I suck at writing reviews, I would first bitch slap the person so freaking hard THEN I’ll admit that I do suck at writing reviews and I’d rather eat nails than do it (a slight exaggeration but it raises my apprehension towards it)
               SOOO… back to the review. I completely hated it and loved it at the same time. It had me biting my nails and totally alert all throughout the duration of the film, it kept on my toes. It made me want to bash my head in or someone else’s. That’d be more fun. And I admit, it made me tear u a bit, don’t judge me! It’s a very emotional movie. I’m nearly at three hundred words! (the minimum for all blog entries) and my misery shall end with the hundredth word, which is all I want right now.


END. 

Plagiarism sucks for the plagiarized


Dear Readers,

              Today you’ll learn all my thoughts about plagiarism. But, before we begin, let me tell you what really is plagiarism and The Intellectual Property Code of the Philippines. [1] According to the Meriam-Webster Online Dictionary to “plagiarize” to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own or to use (another's production) without crediting the source, It involves both stealing someone else's work and lying about it afterward. In other words, plagiarism is an act of fraud. If you guys don’t already know we have a law against plagiarism here in the Philippine, it’s called the Republic Act No. 8293 or the Intellectual Property Code of the Philippines, you might want to check it out if you want to know more about it. I know each and every one of us has plagiarized something at one point, I mean come on guys, copy – pasting??? Total plagiarism. Don’t even try to defend yourself. I know you’ve done it, so don’t even. I’ve certainly done it, not proud of it just laying down the facts here. Students are more susceptible to plagiarizing, especially with the essays that are due to their professors/ teachers whatever you want call them tomorrow. Procrastination lead to plagiarism, so try and avoid it, although, procrastination doesn’t always plagiarizing but whatever right? SO anyway, my thoughts! I really do think that plagiarism is very wrong, it has happened to me and I really didn’t like the fact that somebody else took credit for my work (I had to make an effort you know! I am a really lazy person so me making an effort is a big thing) the nerve of that person right! Pisses me every time I think about it. Anyway, let me give you a tip, if you ever end up copy – pasting somebody else’s work into you work, do give them due credit, paste the link where you got it from or whatever and just give them credit. Because that my friends is not plagiarism.


              Aight. Toodle loo my dear readers. Also please pardon my poor excuse of a blog. I have recently had an odontechonomy and the pain is currently clouding my mind, so yeah. Bye.



SMOKING KILLS (Who would've thought right?)


Dear readers,
              
  Smoking kills. Yup, I said it, smoking kills. Every hit you take takes minutes from your life span. But does that knowledge ever stop people from smoking? The answer is a big fat no. They only ever care about their health when it’s noticeably degrading. Constant coughing, high fevers, frequent trips to the doctors’, the list goes on and on. As the say saying goes “regret only shows through in the end”. And why might you ask am I blogging about this topic??? Simple. Because my professor told me to. I am apparently supposed to talk about the “anti-smoking campaign” of my college, which I think is complete and utter BS (I’m keeping it PG here guys, so that means no swearing). Sure they advertise that people should stop smoking, they even have tarpaulins here and there. But they don’t ever really do anything about it, heck! Even the faculty smokes within school vicinity (the parking lot is pretty hard not to miss guys). So reader, tell me this, how are we actually going to believe that there is an anti-smoking campaign? Us students? When even the schools’ faculty ignore the said campaign. I mean whatever right???

People constantly berate us smokers, saying that we should stop, we’re taking days out of our lives. But what if that was our intention? Each and every one of us has their own demons to face, each of us faces them differently. Smoking for me is my demon repellant. Some of you might understand, many of you won’t. To those readers who do it for the same reason, I ask you, will we ever stop running away from our problems? We will ever stop cowering in fear? Are we gonna live?



With that, I end this blog. Sorry for this sorry excuse of a blog. It is completely unedited, so will be the rest of the blogs that I will post. I’m doing this in one sitting so I won’t fail my subject. 



Monday, February 1, 2016

JUDGE ME!


                                                                                                               Dear reader,

               I am aware that this is supposed to be a “Describe yourself” type of blog, but I’ve never really been too keen on those for I am a very self-depreciating person who would most probably write more cons that pro about myself. So I’ll try something different, shake things up a bit you know? I’ll let you dear reader, decide who you think I am through my writing (deep inside I know that you’re just itching to judge me), because what is life without a bit if spice? You might say “you’re being dumb” or “this is an action in futility”, but I say to you, you’ll never know until you try! And my answer to the former is “you’re dumb-er!” (Childish I know, but who cares, this is my blog, be gone person who thinks you’re smarter than me). I challenge you dear reader to dissect my writing and find out the type of person I am or you could just simply ignore this blog and move on with your pleasantly dull life, whichever floats your boat. So for those of you who have picked up my metaphorical gauntlet let us begin. And we shall begin with a name. My name.

               Crystin Therese A. Espenilla, Crystin Espenilla, Crystin. That is the name that I was given by my parents. A name that was chosen for me while I was still a fetus being developed in my mother’s womb. At that time I would probably have been thankful that the burden of picking a name that I will forever be branded with me was lifted off my still unformed shoulders. What would I know though about what I thought back then or if I was even thinking back then, seeing as how my brain was still under developed. But by existing in this world for the past 18 years, I have realized that I need a sense of individualism. Especially from my name, because it is my marker here in this world, even if I will never make anything of myself, at least my name was spoken through numerous lips who have known me. That is why I do not want a name that is so generic that you could probably shout my name in a crowded place and a number of heads will turn. No. I want a name that will set me apart from other people, a name that will be remembered and be called unique. But I also don’t want to disrespect my parents by discarding the name that they have christened me with that is why I’m eternally grateful for my middle name, Azul. A name that sets me apart from the rest, a name that will give me a sense of individualism and be remembered for its uniqueness, sure it’s still a name that is being used by other people, but it is a name that I’m comfortable and happy with. And it’s always a plus that I haven’t completely abandoned my given name.

               So there it is, a part of my soul that I have written for you to judge and pick apart like rabid dogs in a hunt for raw meat. Know that this is not all of me, If I write that, it’ll probably take so much more paragraphs and time so I vote nay to that (oh… you voted too? Too bad this is my blog and the ballots are forever closed). Besides, I’ll probably start getting lazy at the middle and convince myself to just leave it unfinished because there’s no point to this whole thing, so I think it’s best this way.


Adieu, Au revoir, Goodbye, So long my dear readers and until next time. Live long and prosper.