Thursday, April 21, 2016

THE END.


Dear Reader,
           
    Finally, it is actually the final blog. It really is the last one (everyone whoops and hollers in the background)

              
So today was our speech choir thing (and also the ignite speeches). My block plus AMBA 155 had to perform today, and I was tired as fudge because I didn’t get to sleep the night before because of the stupid AVP for speech choir. Which I miraculously completed by the way! (though the audio didn’t render through, oh well, beggars can’t be choosy). Although there were slight hitches in the road to today I can confidently say with my chin held high that we did great, we were able to capture our audience’s attention and relay the message we were trying to get through, which was oppression, we focused on that part of Maya Angelou’s “Caged Bird” because we felt like it would bring a greater impact. Sad to say that we didn’t even get a place, which I am still bitter about, because our interpretation of the piece, I think, was very well thought out. The thing that confounded me the most though, was the winner of the AVP. It was not even technically an AVP! It was a freaking music video and it had absolutely nothing to do with the piece. The music video was shot poorly with lots of camera shake and low lighting. Why the heck did they win?! I would have understood if another one got the best AVP award, but seriously man. Seriously. All my rage. And as for our performance, even the other participating blocks said that we did an amazing job, why the heck did we not get a place?!? Seriously. I am that bitter.
              
   
  Urgh. Anyway, whatever, I have ranted. Now you all now know my thoughts about the competition.


I AM OFFICIALLY DONE WITH MY ENGLISH ENRICHMENT PROGRAM SUBJECT!!! THREE CHEERS!!!


I hope to never write to you guys again.


Public as in, in front a lot of people. Welp.

Dear Readers,

               GUYS. I WAS IN A COMPETITION. IT WAS PUBLIC SPEAKING! HA FREAKING HA. If you were to tell me a while back that I’ll be speaking publicly I would have most definitely puked on your face, nah just kidding (or am I???). I am actually a person who gets nervous in front of large audiences who have their attention on me, even inside the classroom I get nervous. But my public speaking classes did actually help me boost my confidence in speaking, sure sometimes I get the urge to puke from time to time but at least I don’t get the feeling that I am about to faint, which I think is a very good improvement! Now I’m much more comfortable speaking to crowds (even though I still get nervous).
              
               The theme of the said public speaking contest was “Integrity has no need of rules” In which I completely disagree (after, of course, my parents enlightened me on how stupid I was). Sure in a sense, it does not need rules, but hey I’m a stickler for order and I think everything in the universe has a rule.

               So! Here’s an excerpt from my speech! Enjoy.

"INTEGRITY! Sadly, not a lot of people has it nowadays. A trait so noble and virtuous that only a few people of this generation has it. To be a person with integrity, one has to be bound by laws or what we call principles. Let’s think about it shall we? Integrity by definition is when a person has a firm adherence to a code especially moral or artistic values, I got this is straight out of the Meriam-Webster Dictionary so you can check if I’m actually saying the truth and not spewing just a load of crap. Anyway, I’m also going to define the word rule so that we may further have a deeper understanding of the phrase “Integrity has no rules”. The word rule actually has a lot of definitions, but for my purposes I chose a definition that is well suited for this topic. A rule is something that tells you what is or is not allowed in a particular situation, it is also an accepted procedure, custom or habit, from this I was able to infer that Integrity does have rules. Everything in the world is governed by laws or rules, Integrity is absolutely not an exception. Anything that exists in this world needs a set of rules to operate by, a prime example is us humans, we take every chance we get to make a stupid law about everything every little thing, nature has its own laws, even the universe has its own order, what more of integrity?"




OMG. STOP WITH THE MOVIE REVIEWS!

Dear Readers,
             
  So movie review. URGH. I’m just so ready to be done with this term. I am super ready for vacation. Let us just do this.

               So the title is Sana Dati. A Filipino romantic movie (double sigh). I can do this. I can do this. I can do this. I can do this. I can do this.

               Sana Dati (English: If Only) is a 2013 Filipino romantic drama film written and directed by Jerrold Tarog. The film is about a woman who stalls her big wedding when a guy with a camera shows up and reminds her of a love she once had. It is the final installment to Tarog's Camera trilogy that includes Confessional (2007) and The Blood Trail (2009). The film competed under the Directors Showcase sidebar of Cinemalaya 2013. The film won Best Film and other technical awards at the festival's awards night. The film is a love story about a woman named Andrea (Lovi Poe) whose wedding is thrown into disarray when a mysterious guy, Dennis (Paulo Avelino) arrives and reminds her of the man she really loves. [1]
           
         This is so typical of a Filipino film. Sure it is beautifully directed and has an awesome plot and story line but c’mon man. I want more. I don’t want the BS stuff. I want something real and concrete. I know it is a bit vague but I don’t know how else I’m going to say it so yeah. I want movies that talks about everyday problems or a movie that looks so simplistic but with further inspection is like an iceberg. I want inspirational shit like the movie “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” or a gritty movie like “The Shawshank Redemption”, those, my friends, are movies that I would watch a million of times.

[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sana_Dati


WARNING: THIS IS A MOVIE REVIEW



Dear Readers,

               MOVIE REVIEW TIME! (DUN DUN DUN DUN) I hate this part. I’m literally cringing yo. I really do not like writing movie reviews, I absolutely detest them. Why you ask? Well there’s no real reason at all.

               The movie is called Parasyte! Some of you may be familiar, some of you may not. For those who are not familiar, Parasyte is a Japanese movie directed by Takashi Yamazaki. It is all about a story of a Japanese teen who manages to stop an alien infection before it spreads to his brain, but is then forced to coexist with the mutant creature when it takes control of his right arm in “Parasyte.” Part horror movie, part buddy comedy and part superhero origin story, this clever twist on the classic body-snatcher formula — adapted from a popular manga and divided into two features (this first installment opening Nov. 29, followed by part two in 2015) — couldn’t be in better hands: Blockbuster helmer Takashi Yamazaki (whose “The Eternal Zero” earned $70 million domestic) stands to achieve not just domestic domination, but a serious grip on genre aficionados’ imaginations worldwide. [1]

               I have actually watched the anime version and loved it very much since it was my type of thing ya know, weird yet fascinating at the same time. Thought at times I got really frustrated but I let it go since I actually liked the anime, so yeah, no hard feelings bruh.
              
               I wanted to make a fanfic out of this though but every time I come up with a plot, I felt like it was not going the direction I wanted it to go, I tried and tried guys, like really hard to make a fanfic that you guys would enjoy but I just couldn’t spit out anything. So yeah. No fanfic from guys.

[1] http://variety.com/2014/film/festivals/film-review-parasyte-part-1-1201344567/

IT'SCHA BIRTHDAY!




Dear Readers,
                
               So let’s talk about a hunk named Benjamin Alves, talk about drool worthy guys. He celebrated his birthday in APC! At first when I heard that we were required to attend an event, I immediately groaned (yo I’m a groaner) I do not like attending events, they are just not my cup of tea. So we went to MPH 1 and waited there for the celebrant himself and let me tell you girls it was worth the freaking wait. OH. MY. FREAKING. GOSH. Yoooooooooooooooooooo he is hella cute, google him if you don’t know him. I bet my laptop that he has washboard abs under his shirt. (CLEAN THOUGHTS DUDE! STOP!!!) anyway, the best part of him was the fact that he was a lit. student at Cambodia (????) Maaaaaaaaan. You talented and hot. He actually delivered a slam poem that he made ways back and he actually delivered it quite well (apparently, in slam poetry, when you like something the person said, you have to snap your fingers not clap). Anyway, other than Ben, there were also some students who delivered their slam poems, some of them were actually good.

              

  READERS! Let me share something with you guys, I actually am also a writer of poems so here is a sample. ENJOY.

Mountains’ Face

Water slides down the mountains’ face
Magma sears within
A cave forms deep
Drips, drips, drops
Water slides down the mountains’ face

The heavens look down
Thunder rumbling in their guts
Staring down in disdain
Heavens’ fury descends

Bare, stripped, naked
Left vulnerable, left unguarded
Their fury knows no end
Their wrath will not bend

Red water gushes out the mountains’ face
Magma, festering within
 Walls, already caving in
Red water gushes out the mountains’ face




AYT AYT THREE MORE TO GO! YEAAAAH!

ERRBODY WANNA BE A MILLIONAIRE



Dear readers,

               So for your information, I was forced to join a game (which I actually enjoyed it in the end) called who wants to be a millionaire in my school, it was a sham guys, they did not give away a million pesos. So in the English Resource Department’s version of who wants to be a millionaire, all of the questions were about literature and books (duuuuuh!) and whatnot, some of the questions were easy and some of them we had to guess because we really didn’t have a clue on what the answer was. By the way! I had teammates! I did not go through this ordeal alone (as if I would fly solo), their names was Beatrice Baylosis and Tyron Santos, the three of us represented ABMA 153, sadly we didn’t win, but at least we made it into the 2nd to the last round (welp! Help me out here guys, I forgot what the round was called) and of course the greatest part of entering the game was… drumroll please… (you really should imagine drumrolls kay?) INCENTIVES!!!! Yaaaay! I’d do anything for grades as I have said before!


              
               The reason why I’m blogging about this is because my professor told me to, I might be a rebel sometimes but you just can’t rebel against grades yo, education for the win. I really should edit this blog but meh. Maybe when I get really OC or something, maybe then I’ll fix all my blogs, but seeing as I’m a lazy bum I do not see that happening in the future. Ok. SO. The one who made me join was my professor from my technical writing class, when he pointed at me, my mind literally blanked because I was seriously not expecting it, I mean, there I was, packing my things so that I could eat lunch then all of a sudden my professor calls me and tells me I have to join the game. I said ok of course. You cannot say no to your professor.


 Two down! Four more to go!!! Woot Woot! 

WHATEVER FLOATS YOUR BOAT.



Dear Readers,

               Well this Is a little embarrassing isn’t it? I told you a blog ago that it would be my final one and yet here I am typing away at my keyboard, preparing to make a new one. As you may have inferred, my last blog was definitely not the last one. I have 7 more to go (y’all can’t hear me but I am groaning right now). I was fooled into a sense of peace when suddenly our professor told us that we have to write a set of blogs, you’d best believe that my jaw figuratively hit the floor. It’s not that I don’t like writing, I actually love it, it’s just that I don’t like pressure writing. Anyway! Join me again in my countdown to my last blog. It’s for real this time.
              
               So let’s talk about the float parade (could it even be called that?????? We just basically walked along Lapu-Lapu street with our floats with little to none people watching). So in my course we have this subject called Approj - Applied Projects, and what we had to do was to build a float, so a float was what we built. So our section was divided into two and I was put into Group A together with 13 other people. The theme for the float that we were making was Filipino Myths or Folklore (I think, but I’m not really sure) so what we came up with was a hybrid monster. We combined an “Agta” and a “Wak-wak”, 2 obscure Filipino creatures that are not really that popular. I had no part in the actual designing of the creature, I left that to my groupmates who were good at character creations. So after our idea was approved by our professor we began the planning and all the good stuff that came along with project planning. Fast forward to the day of the competition, we won 2nd place together with the other group from my section, Group B. After the competition we then made the documentation of the project because it was requirement and not because we wanted to do it

         
          One down, FIVE more to go! Again, I’m doing this in one seating so forgive my fragmented blog. So Sorry.